The Abel Prize 2023, Call for nominations

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters hereby calls for nominations of candidates for the Abel Prize 2023.

The Abel Prize recognizes outstanding scientific work in the field of mathematics, including mathematical aspects of computer science, mathematical physics, probability, numerical analysis and scientific computing, statistics and applications of mathematics in the sciences.

The Abel Prize amounts to NOK 7,5 million.

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters awards the Abel Prize on the basis of a recommendation from the Academy’s Abel Committee, chaired by an Academy member and consisting of four further members elected among names put forward by the International Mathematical Union and the European Mathematical Society. The Abel Prize may be awarded to one single person, or shared for closely related fundamental contributions. The Abel Committee receives all nominations and may itself nominate candidates for the Abel Prize.

Nomination should be accompanied by a description of the work and impact of the nominee/nominees, together with names of distinguished specialists in the field of the nominee/nominees who can be contacted for an independent opinion. When nominating it is a requirement to take into account that the nominee has adhered to general guidelines for research ethics.

Letter of nomination should be sent no later than September 15, 2022.

For further information about:

How to nominate

Nomination form for the Abel Prize 2023

Previous award winners (

The name of the Abel Laureate will be announced in March 2023.

The award ceremony will take place in Oslo in May 2023.

Вести и дешавања

Активности на семинарима

све вести